## Putnam County's State Qualifiers, Poll and State Champions

In 1988, the Kalida Wildcats accomplished two amazing feats. They were the first team from Putnam County to win the State Poll Championship and the OHSAA State Championship. In 1989, the Wildcats duplicated this feat by repeating as the State Poll and the OHSAA State Champions. Both of these teams were coached by Frank Schroeder.

In 1997 and 1998, Kalida nearly duplicated this astounding feat again. In 1997, Kalida did not win the State Poll Championship but did win the OHSAA State Championship. In 1998, the reverse happened. The Wildcats won the State Poll Championship, but lost in the Regionals. Deb Lammers coached both of these teams.

In 2004, Miller City had a dream season with a 25-1 record. The Wildcats had an undefeated season and won the State Poll Champions, but lost in the State Semi-Finals. Miller City was coached by Chris Rump.

From 2015-2024, Ottawa-Glandorf sent six teams to State. In 2015, 2016, 2021 and 2024, the Titans were the State Runner-Ups. The Titans lost in the State Semi-Finals in 2017 annd 2018. In 2017, O-G won the State Poll Championship with a 22-0 record. The Titans were coached by Troy Yant.

And then there is Ottoville! The Big Green dominated girls' basketball at the state level for 17 years, 1993-2019. They won four State Poll Championships in the years 2006, 2010, 2012 and 2013. Ottoville has not won an OSHAA State Championship yet, but have qualified eight times in the years 1993, 1996, 2005, 2007, 2013, 2017, 2018 and 2019. They were the State Runner-Ups in 2005, 2018 and 2019. Ottoville's coach was Dave Kleman.

Kalida - 6	Miller City - 2	Ottoville - 12
1988 Poll Champions	2004 Poll Champions	1993 State Qualifer
1988 State Champions	2004 State Qualifier	1996 State Qualifer
1989 Poll Champions		2005 State Runner-Up
1989 State Champions	Ottawa-Glandorf - 8	2006 Poll Champions
1997 State Champions	2005 Poll Champions	2007 State Qualifier
1998 Poll Champions	2015 State Runner-Up	2010 Poll Champions
	2016 State Runner-Up	2012 Poll Champions
	2017 Poll Champions	2013 Poll Champions
	2017 State Qualifier	2013 State Qualifier
	2018 State Qualifier	2017 State Qualifier
	2021 State Runner-Up	2018 State Runner-Up
	2024 State Runner-Up	2019 State Runner-Up